top of page

SBMAL Staff and Board Members

Who We Are

The Santa Bárbara Mission Archive-Library (SBMAL) is a non-profit 501(c)(3) research and educational institution (Federal Tax I.D. 95-6220730) dedicated to the collection and preservation of, and access to, historical and cultural resources pertaining to Franciscan history and Missions and the communities they interacted with, especially in Colonial New Spain, Northwestern Mexico, and the Southwestern United States.

SBMAL seeks to provide wide access to its holdings and serve as a resource to the community and qualified researchers. The Archive-Library organizes and participates in educational, professional, and community events that support its mission, and that help increase the knowledge of the California missions, their past, and the heritage of California and the Americas.


The Santa Bárbara Mission Archive-Library is a non-profit institution, governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees, and dependent on donations, grants, and membership dues to cover conservation, staffing, and operational expenses.












SBMAL Board Members

Mr. John Gherini, Esq. (President)
Dr. Judy Larson (Vice President)
Dr. Monica Orozco (Secretary)
Fr. Bob Barbato, OFM Capuchin
Dr. James Brooks
Bro. Angelo Cardinalli, OFM
Fr. Joe Chinnici, OFM
Dr. Juan Cobo Betancourt
Mr. Peter DaRos
Fr. John Hardin, OFM
Dr. John Johnson
Mr. James Yee

SBMAL is open to researchers by appointment only. Some collections remain closed so please confirm access to a specific collection when scheduling your appointment.

bottom of page